Teachers pose with designation banners

May 10, 2023

LANCASTER, Texas -- Teachers are essential to society and crucial in shaping our children's future. In recognition of their dedication and hard work, many school districts, including Lancaster ISD, participate in the Teacher Incentive Allotment program. In addition, forty-four teachers in Lancaster ISD will receive a five-year designation as a Master, Exemplary, or Recognized teacher based on teacher observation and student growth data. 

This incentive program, created by the Texas Legislature as part of House Bill 3 in 2019, aims to reward teachers for their hard work and dedication to their students. According to the Texas Education Agency, the TIA provides a realistic pathway for teachers to earn a six-figure salary. It helps attract and retain highly effective teachers at traditionally hard-to-staff schools. In addition, teachers can generate allotment funds for their district through the program based on their performance. Thanks to the Teacher Incentive Allotment (TIA) program, teachers in Lancaster ISD are set to receive a significant pay increase. 

"The TIA will help Lancaster ISD because we are so close to larger neighboring districts with more robust compensation plans," explained Dr. LaBotta Taylor, Lancaster ISD Chief of Human Resources. "Our district has approximately 7,200 students enrolled, and the TIA will help us maintain our staff and recruit even more talented teachers."

The allotment, which the Texas state government funds, is based on teacher experience, student performance, and other achievements. The program incentivizes teachers to improve teaching methods and help students achieve better academic outcomes.

"I feel acknowledged and appreciated for my efforts as an educator," said Gerald Holmes, TIA Recognized teacher. "As we all know, many teachers teach because it's in our hearts! And sometimes, a small recognition goes a long way."

Teacher designations have a base allotment amount and a multiplier rate based on each specific designation level. These teacher designations generate additional teacher-focused allotment funding for districts for them to reward their top performers. Lancaster ISD will receive a TIA allotment between $3,000 and $32,000 for each designated teacher.

According to Shakinya Hill, a TIA Master teacher, receiving the designation is fulfilling, but obtaining it involves a lot of effort. 

"The most challenging part of this journey was looking at the data and creating fun and engaging activities that would still allow my students to show growth," said Heads. "I had to be intentional and pull my small groups consistently. But the most rewarding part was seeing how much my students grew academically from the beginning of the school year to the end."

The benefits of teacher incentive allotments are numerous. First, they help attract and retain top-quality teachers. Districts must offer competitive salaries and benefits to find the best talent. Teacher incentive allotments are an excellent way to do this. In addition, they encourage and energize teachers currently working in the district.

"Receiving the allotment inspires me to want to continue to pour greatness into my students. In addition, it motivates teachers to do even better when their efforts are appreciated and rewarded," said Hill. 

Allotments help create a culture of excellence within campuses. By rewarding teachers who have demonstrated exceptional performance, Lancaster ISD sends a message that excellence is valued and encouraged. The TIA is essential to student success because it helps with teacher retention and recruitment, and students succeed when they have the best teachers. With the Texas government's continued support, the TIA program will positively impact the future of education in our state.

For additional information about the Teacher Incentive Allotment program, please visit https://tiatexas.org/

Master Designations

Tilisha Brown

Suzanne Cole-Lyons

Lisa Eddie

Kourtnie Graves

Nikki Griffin

Charmaine Harris

Shakinya Hill

Kimberly Johnson

Ursula Kirkland

Maria Perez

Marian Polk

Jessica Ray

Tonya Richard

Maria Tenorio

Michelle Varga

Tamira Wade

Exemplary Designations

Contessa Banks

Davetta Garrett

Curtyna Hayes

Amber Mitchell

Devon Moore

Daphne Parker

Cheryl Scott

Erica Smith

James Spiller

Marlen Torreblanca

Deshia Wesley

Recognized Designation

Kimberly Campbell

Mark Davis

Jasmine Evans

Cynthia Green

Gerald Holmes

LaToya Jones

Melissa Lestina

Sierra Manning

Elisa McClellan

Tara Nelson

Lakeisha Pruitt

Kenjanae Randle

Cara Reed

Vonikki Stephenson

Yajayra Valentin

Quanisha Vickers

Sonya Winston

Please click here to view additional photos of Lancaster ISD Teacher Incentive Allotment Designees.